Categories
Thoughts that consume

The + In The –

….I can safely say I am proud of little ol’ me for overcoming what I could have easily given into. My negative thoughts. Moreover, I’ve learned a lesson in the process…

There I was, getting into bed, thinking to myself that I’ve had a long enough day already. Sleep was the only thing on my mind, until I started contemplating posting something. “Do it tomorrow instead of today,” said that little voice inside my head. It continued, “Heater is on, bed is warm, tomorrow is only a few hours away.”

Yet, I felt guilty about giving up on the part of me who wants to see something through for once. I listened to my more hopeful and definitely less lazy inner voice, it made me feel guilty for almost giving up before even starting. My message to myself, and to you today would be…

Try not to complicate things, I thought I’d have trouble writing and waste time just thinking. The thought of how much trouble it might be for me to glare (as one does) at a brightly lit screen in a pitch black room was unpleasant until that positive inner voice gave me another nudge. “Just a little one, like yesterday.”

Now, however, that I am here and already typing I can safely say I am proud of little ol’ me for overcoming what I could have easily given into. My negative thoughts. Moreover, I’ve learned a lesson in the process…

So just to put this out there, to you who has stumbled upon this post. Don’t let the thoughts that are fleeting or fears of the unknown define you, restrict you or scare you out of doing something, anything you want to do. Chances are, the moment you take that first step, you’ll forget everything and enjoy the moment, that long lasting, self-defining moment. The passion that led you to wanting whatever it is that you seek will be the key to demolishing your negative thoughts. Feed on it, use it, let it become you.

As moments pass, faster than you thought, and as things come to end… the drive might settle, but just for a while. And until you go back to that place again, you’ll be left with the sweetest aftertaste of your victory!

Love,

By TheDabbler

I'm an educator; I'm British, so I teach English. I'm a traveller; I've travelled to 29 countries...and counting.
I'm an artist, sold some pieces, but I really do it just for the love of art!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.